My Journey to Boosting Typing Speed by 273%!

My Journey to Boosting Typing Speed by 273%!

·

4 min read

In my school and college days, I was always slow in my typing. Because of that, I was not able to complete my work on time. I have no access to a computer or laptop at that time, which is also a reason for my slowness in my typing speed. I bought my laptop last year and I decided to first improve my typing speed. My main aim at that time was to achieve a good speed as soon as possible.

Where to practice?

I have noticed that many of my friends see keys to type, but I know that I can’t achieve speed by seeing and typing. So I first learned the correct finger to be used for the specific key. Then I searched if there is any website to practice and keep track of my learning progress. There were many websites of the kind I was expecting, but they do that for money. Finally, I found the perfect website called keybr.com which satisfied all my expectations and is also free of cost.

I liked the user interface of the website and started to type my first lesson. At this time I have learned to type the letter without seeing the keyboard, so I managed to type my first lesson without seeing the keyboard. The special feature of the website is if we make a mistake, the color of the letter is changed to red. This helps to see which letter we often make mistake and the algorithm of the website promote the letter more times in the sentence than usual to give more practice for the specific letter.

I made a daily routine to practice typing on this website for the first 20 minutes of my every day with some YouTube podcast playing in the background. For the first few days, my speed was around 15 words per minute (wpm). But I didn’t mind about the speed initially, because my first preference is to decrease the number of typing errors. After my error percentage is less than 3 out of 100, then I started slowly increasing my speed.

Trust in the process

Patience is the key. You have to trust the process. Then the result will automatically come as the byproduct. There is a profile section where you can see the all-time stats and also the present-day stats. I usually look into it daily to see my progress in the process and I have actually seen a good improvement in my typing speed.

screenshot from the keybr.com

Currently, my top speed is 56.3 wpm. It took me 3 months to achieve this speed from 15 wpm. It is not that great speed, but it is a good speed. There are thousands of people who can type faster than me, but that’s not the problem. The thing is I want to educate the people like me to find a good platform to practice.

Key features and settings

There are some features that you need to understand before getting into the website. You can customize the time you can type in a day to achieve your daily goals. Initially, when I was starting off, I set the daily goal to 20 minutes. Then gradually I decreased the time to 10 minutes as my speed increased.

There are also two other features in the setting to add letters to the words and to add words to lessons. There are also two checkboxes to enable capital letters and punctuation marks.

I have spent almost 130 days now and it’s been an amazing experience. I will definitely suggest this awesome website(keybr.com) to increase your typing speed. I always believe that consistency and hard work is the key to success. Hope this article will help many readers to increase their speed. Feel free to share your success stories in the response column.

Thank you for reading till the end. Please give me a 👏clap if you like the article and 🚀share your views on the article in the comments. Also, follow me to get instant updates on my new articles.

If you enjoy reading my articles and would like to support my work, you can now buy me a coffee! Your support will help me to continue creating valuable content and fuel my caffeine addiction.

I am based in India, and I am not eligible for the Medium Partner Program, which means I cannot earn money through the Medium platform. By buying me a coffee, you are directly supporting me and my work, which allows me to keep creating content that you enjoy. Your contribution will go a long way in helping me to cover the costs of running my website, conducting research, and investing time in creating high-quality articles.

Click the “Buy Me a Coffee ☕️” button below to support me and my writing. Thank you in advance for your support!

Here is the link for my other articles. Hope you will like it.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Aravind S by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!